A Film Review of Atlanta Falcons Rookie Linebacker Prince Shembo

prince-shembo-atlanta-falcons2

Matt Cashore- USA Today Sports

Stephen Lee

Atlanta Falcons Writer

The Atlanta Falcons entered the draft with a major need for an edge rusher.  It caught most everyone off guard when Thomas Dimitroff waited until the bottom of the fourth round to finally turn his attention to the Falcons ailing pass rush and select Prince Shembo with the No. 139 pick.  At this point in most Falcons fans (myself included) were screaming for Jackson Jeffcoat (who was only halfway through his catastrophic draft day plunge) and Shembo was, at best, an afterthought.  Considering the allegations of sexual misconduct that had dogged Shembo in the past it was pretty hard to imagine that Dimitroff, with his long history avoiding players with character red flags, would even have Shembo on his draft board in the first place.  In years past it would have been a surprise to see the Falcons scheduling a visit with a player with a checkered history but this year was different.  With the added pressure of rebounding from a 4-12 season in 2013  Dimitroff looks as if he is relaxing his standards a bit.   Drafting the reportedly hot and cold Ra’Shede Hageman was a clear sign of this change and drafting Prince Shembo sealed it.

This year the Falcons were willing to take a few calculated risks.  These were no major gambles.  Hageman faced questions about his work ethic but after working closely with him for a week in Mobile at the Senior Bowl the Falcons coaching staff had plenty of time to assess his character.  Dimitroff explained after the draft they had thoroughly vetted Shembo and were “very comfortable” making the decision to draft him.   A fourth round compensatory pick doesn’t represent a large investment either, which surely played into the decision to take a risk on the Notre Dame linebacker.

Shembo’s production was not stellar in his four years at Notre Dame.  He only managed 19.5 sacks in his time with the Fighting Irish but he was an effective outside threat all the same.  He doesn’t leap off the film athletically but his motor never stops.  His first priority for the Irish was to attack the ball.  In the games I’ve seen he wasn’t asked to play in coverage often but he didn’t allow any big plays when he was asked to drop back.  The Notre Dame coaches were creative in deploying him in their formations.  He rotated between rushing from a 2-point and 3-point stance as well as switching between both sides of the line.   He won’t win any foot races but he has a deceptively quick first step and shows excellent pop with his hand at the point of attack.

Here is a good example of Shembo’s power.

Shembo is lined up in a 3-point stance on the left side.  He takes two steps towards the outside shoulder of the right tackle before springing across his face inside.  He manages to get into the gap before either the guard or tackle can recover and he powers through both of them for the sack.

Here is his second sack from the same game against Arizona State.

This sack is as much scheme as player.  The last minute shift by the Notre Dame line allows Shembo to gain a free release from his outside linebacker spot.  The right tackle ends up blocking the left end and the tight end releases into a pass pattern giving Shembo a clean release.  The running back is late coming over to help and is rendered completely ineffective.

This is another sack that can be credited as much to scheme as to the player.

I almost didn’t include this clip but it was Shembo’s third sack in what was probably his most productive game at Notre Dame.  In this clip the entire defensive line shifts left off the snap and though the offensive line tries to compensate no one picks up Shembo blitzing from his outside linebacker position.  Shembo does an excellent job of not biting on the play action and racks up an easy sack.

This final play from the Arizona State game wasn’t a sack but it illustrates one of Shembo’s greatest strengths.

The strength I’m referring to is his inside rip move.  This isn’t a perfect example of that technique but it is effective here and he flashes good power afterwards.  Shembo loves to set up tackles with an initial speed edge rush only to counter inside with a rip or spin.  He has a quick first step so he doesn’t struggle to get the right tackle to commit his momentum outside.  At that exact moment Shembo rips inside and drags the tackle and guard towards the quarterback.  He may not have gotten the sack but he contributed to making the quarterback antsy which lead to an interception.

He is not a “blind dog in a meat market” as a pass rusher either.

Here we can see Shembo lining up with his hand in the dirt on the left side.  He initially tries to push up field but quickly spies the back leaking out into a screen, works his way across the formation and brings the back down for a loss.   That sort of awareness and motor are exactly what the Falcons need from their linebackers, especially with the screen-happy Saints in the division.

I believe Shembo’s non-stop motor is his best selling point.

In this example Shembo is lined up as a right defensive end.  Of the snap he tries to beat the left tackle to the corner but does not succeed. Undaunted by this he tries to continue to work back inside but again finds limited success.  Shembo does not stop working though and when the quarterback is forced to break contain Shembo spins off the block and forces an incomplete pass.  If he had of allowed the tackle to run him completely out of the play when his outside rush didn’t work he would have never been in position to make this play.  Instead he kept himself involved in the play and was eventually able to have an impact.

Here is yet another example of his non-stop motor.

Once again Shembo is lined up at right defensive end only this time he rushes inside off the snap.  The left tackle does a good job of keeping him at bay off snap but Shembo never stops pushing.  As he slowly gains ground an inch at a time the outside rush from Notre Dame flushes the quarterback up in the pocket and into Shembo.

Shembo’s strengths as a powerful, non-stop rusher are evident on film but so are his weaknesses.  While he shows good burst off of the line he doesn’t have the elite speed needed to consistently beat tackles to the edge.  His impressive strength and his handful of well developed pass rush techniques (his inside rip is his bread and butter but he pulls out a good spin from time to time) allow him to be an effective pass rusher but he will have to perfect his hand usage to be in impact player in the NFL.

In this clip you can see the Purdue left tackle easily handling Shembo’s speed rush.

The tackle effortlessly stays in front of Shembo and keeps him out of the play entirely.  There are far too many instances of this scattered throughout the games I reviewed.  In fact of the six games I was Shembo rarely won when rushing outside.  This fact underscores the concerns about his speed and is likely a large part of the reason he almost fell into the fifth round.

Here is an example of what happens when Shembo is slow shooting his hands.

He is a little slow off the snap and he loses before he ever got really gets started.  I could link to at least a dozen more examples that look exactly like that last two.  It is not nearly as much fun to review bad tape though so I’ll spare you all the trouble.  I’ll just sum it up by saying that for all of Shembo’s power and tenacity sometimes it’s just not enough to win.  Were he a step or two faster he could have easily been a first round pick but he isn’t and wasn’t.  He still has plenty of value as a rotational rusher and run stopper though.  Mike Nolan has a history of finding creative ways to create free releases for his pass rushers and Shembo could thrive in that system thanks to his discipline and tenacity.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

65 Comments

  1. Leroy Villamil

    July 12, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    IDNX is something that has been missing for sometime now. Great looking out, Thies Lindenthal

  2. cheap jordans

    July 12, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    In truth, I actually decided not to assume something similar to ipad device coming from Apple inc. . -= Aminul Mahometismo Sajib’s continue website… Yahoo or google PageRank Kept up to date: AISajib. com has become PR3! =-.
    cheap jordans http://www.survocom.com/jordans.php

  3. gucci outlet

    July 14, 2014 at 10:37 am

    You are wright but , in case you shell out some other $$, then you could conversion programs equipment to apply hardware products together with ipad device yet too costly gentleman . -= Sunil Jain’s continue weblog… [How to] Modify Retweet Characteristic with Multiauthor Squidoo websites =-.
    gucci outlet http://colorandcopy.com/gucci.php

  4. seo tool

    July 15, 2014 at 11:31 am

    GScraper, most powerful scraper and poster for link building …mcfkymcn

  5. traducator spaniola romana

    July 15, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  6. traducator romana ebraica

    July 15, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  7. cheap beats by dre

    July 16, 2014 at 6:36 am

    examined demonstrate all hidden data files underneath server nevertheless absolutely no htaccess data. my spouse and i won’t understand it. this really is crazy, significantly assist required right here. most i must do will be have the capacity to publish jacks on squidoo hello there jamesi improved through starhub cable connection high speed 50 mbps for you to fibre braodband hundred mbps i see that nutritional fibre is weaker as compared to cable television in addition to becos from the media hype granted around fibre created often the change and found that fresh leveling bot router additionally are unable to utilize definitely not compatiblebetter to be able to stay with cable broadbandbest rgdshozefa
    cheap beats by dre http://greensburgracquetclub.com/cheap-beats-by-dre.php

  8. gucci outlet

    July 17, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    3 DIMENSIONAL machines are usually relatively amazing. They””re also one of the most severe ideas actually.
    gucci outlet http://www.i3world.us

  9. wordpress.ccg.tw

    July 18, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    News Death Notice

  10. gucci las vegas

    July 18, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Look into Public Records a web based social networking tool for musicians that produces their very own info go to work on their behalf. Approaching this might.
    gucci las vegas http://www.soundviewgc.com/gucci-outlet.php

  11. gucci belt

    July 18, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    thanks a lot, what a unusual location for that programmers to cover in which environment. i used to be getting many issues with the Dreamhost server and i also wasn’t positive the reason why turns out they will disable demonstrating hidden data automatically, while additional machines i connect to having Filezilla apparently present disguised . data automatically. your publish helped me figure it out there, therefore i love.
    gucci belt http://coverglue.com

  12. gucci outlet

    July 19, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    lack of multi-tasking is the major limited coming on this device, however simply no HIGH DEFINITION is definitely much predicted and for that reason isn’t any video camera, though with all these attributes absent am sure many might nevertheless acquire that…
    gucci outlet http://lgag.org

  13. hermes birkin replica 7 star turkey

    July 21, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    hermes birkin replica 7 star turkey best replica hermes gold bracelet eocyjq

  14. nike air max pas cher

    July 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Very good 1. nobody claims these type of “Apple apple ipad Lacks” details. however are lot of idea with ipad booklet. so enable discuss things.. thank you.

  15. timberland outlet

    July 21, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    1 ) Inside “about” food list, it states that my version is usually several. 2 . six (8E200) when that will help.

  16. oakley pas cher

    July 21, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    i thought ipad will have a number of good features!!! but its lacking in more main things!! good info man!!!

  17. nike air max pas cher

    July 21, 2014 at 6:35 pm

    thanx intended for web site regarding driver lg electronics rd400 however friend Vga car owner no longer working plz do the job this kind of motorist LG support centre everyone is likely to provide the DISC of all of the required drivers 100 % free. Plz persist for starters.

  18. lunette de soleil ray ban pas cher

    July 21, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    The actual assertion done in this information (extract below) is usually improper.

  19. christian louboutin pas cher

    July 21, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Whether or not I’m operating Macintosh, ipad tablet and also i phone Need to say that movies with the examine seem very great.

  20. hollister online shop

    July 22, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    Tarrant selon Novembre l’ann茅e derni猫re que le spectacle a 茅t茅 annul茅 en partie 脿 cause de la r茅action du public 脿 la r茅cession.

  21. black timberland boots

    July 22, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    During the Super Bowl Media Day in 2012, there was a roar from the audience and a look of surprise from star Patriots quarterback Tom Brady after he said something complimentary about Indianapolis, the host city.

  22. Votre ench猫re est sup茅rieure ou 茅gale au prix d’Achat imm茅diat. Vous pouvez gagner du temps et 茅conomiser de l’argent en achetant l’objet maintenant.锘縏he Happy Hollisters and the Indian Treasure

  23. Tamica Protzman

    July 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    New to joomla please guide me i have download joomla from website ? What should i do ?

  24. Dalton and some young friends found the 12 gauge shotgun, though it’s unclear which child fired it.

  25. Gucci Borse Outlet

    July 24, 2014 at 7:05 am

    wmf.it

  26. air duct cleaning 77018

    July 24, 2014 at 7:11 am

    Pretty energetic blog, I liked that bit. Will there be a piece 2?

  27. cheap jordans

    July 24, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    I’d have to check with you here. Which is not some thing I often do! I get pleasure from reading a post that may make folks believe. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!
    cheap jordans http://www.flixya.com/blog/5635967/Nike-Can-take-This-Into-consideration

  28. air jordans

    July 24, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    I was particularly pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this splendid read!! I certainly enjoying every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  29. jordans shoes

    July 24, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    I discovered your weblog webpage on google and check some of your early posts. Continue to keep up the especially beneficial operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Searching for forward to reading more from you later on!

  30. cheap mbt shoes

    July 25, 2014 at 6:55 am

  31. Jesica Osbourne

    July 25, 2014 at 11:33 am

    You have observed very interesting details ! ps decent internet site . “Do not quench your inspiration and your inmagination do not become the slave of your model.” by Vincent Van Gogh.

  32. sac herbag hermes

    July 25, 2014 at 12:39 pm

    Pourquoi les gens pensent Hollister est cher

  33. ロレックス デイトナコピー時計:http://www.canot-kayak.qc.ca/rolexwatch.html
    フランクミュラー偽物時計:http://www.iconsinmed.org/cir/franckmullerwatch.html
    メガコピー時計:http://oiltechinvest.com/omegawatch.html
    ウブロスーパーコピー時計:http://hocus-lotus.edu/public/hublotcopy.html

  34. louis vuitton outlet

    July 25, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    Precisely how is definitely Very last. fm not really with this listing… furthermore, have a look at tuberadio. net daaah, because the subject states that: solutions to help pandora bracelets along with LASTFM fool!
    louis vuitton outlet http://www.collectionslouisvuitton.us

  35. home brewing recipes

    July 25, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site accidentally, and I am surprised why this coincidence did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  36. Tequila

    July 25, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    Thank you for starting this up.

  37. jordans outlet

    July 25, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    Nice post. I learn some thing even more challenging on several blogs everyday. It’s going to constantly be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog no matter whether you do not mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.
    jordans outlet http://www.jordan13cheap.com

  38. www.filmonie.cz

    July 25, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    But for all his achievements in racing 10 trainer titles, 25 Classic successes, a knighthood last November Cecil has never shed a vulnerability and self doubt that has endeared him to followers of the sport.

  39. replica hermes bags vintage

    July 25, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    replica hermes bags vintage hermes birkin real or fake difference between xchrmp

  40. AT RISK: Fish habitat and water supply

  41. hermes bag outlet

    July 26, 2014 at 2:23 am

    When two mutual entities combine, the entity identified as the acquirer gives member interests in itself in exchange for the member interests in the acquiree. Thus, consideration is paid, but its fair value is not readily measurable by reference to a market. IFRS 3 recognises that it may be more to fair value the entire member interest of the acquiree, rather than the incremental member interests given by the acquirer.

  42. louboutin for men

    July 26, 2014 at 2:24 am

    The principles touch upon the main issues in the field of population and development, such as: gender equality and equity and the empowerment of women; the integration of population into sustainable development policies and programmes; poverty eradication; access to reproductive health care and family planning; the role of the family; the right to education; the situation of children; the rights of migrants and refugees; and the population and development needs of indigenous people.

  43. replica dior bags

    July 26, 2014 at 8:19 am

    SUPER FAST SHIPPING!!! GREAT ITEM. THANKS!!!

  44. replica givenchy handbags

    July 26, 2014 at 8:19 am

    Nice item. Great value. Prompt delivery. A++ Recommended seller!

  45. Tandy Delosrios

    July 26, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    Once i retire I would like to move to Hawaii.

  46. Davis Wesolick

    July 26, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    definition of data analytics

  47. find out more

    July 26, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    It’s difficult to find experienced people about this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  48. distillation supplies

    July 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    It¡¦s actually a nice and useful piece of info. I¡¦m happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  49. hermes birkin kelly replica au

    July 27, 2014 at 12:53 am

    hermes birkin kelly replica au fake hermes belt india you tell tqghmwfkarb

  50. ray ban bambini

    July 28, 2014 at 12:01 am

    Strappy Halter Sandal, Samira Strauss Pump, Sexy Sling Glittered Stiletto

  51. cheap jordan shoes

    July 28, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I genuinely believe this web site wants far more consideration. I’ll possibly be once more to read far more, thanks for that information.
    cheap jordan shoes http://www.cheapjordanshoesx.com/

  52. wow gold

    July 28, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    The ideal wow gold ever before, designer nice stylish! Also do i point out.Excellent, quality, I like My own wow gold!!!!!

  53. jordan 13

    July 28, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    Just after study some of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I genuinely like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Pls have a look at my web web-site at the same time and let me know what you feel.
    jordan 13 http://www.shoes-jordan.com/

  54. sex

    July 28, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    In my opinion the best craigslist personals are funny ones.

  55. news about cheap tiffany jewelry

    July 28, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    you in order to to clearly identify your personal target consumers to do this specified promo. That is cheap ralph lauren within the bank account that we have numerous customized polo t shirts that will exists out there and so if you can not possess distinct market on your mind, it’s going to be a hardship on that you define the alternatives.

  56. cheap jordans online

    July 28, 2014 at 8:52 pm

    This honestly answered my challenge, thank you!
    cheap jordans online http://www.indyarocks.com/blog/1530694/From-this-website-you-can-purchase-jordans-from-china

  57. lv speedy 25

    July 28, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    I have already been attempting having a essential record as well. We e mailed the item and replicated it out to find the idea didn’t do the job. Now I aren’t get rid of the major I actually included. Maybe you have acquired virtually any fortune having ssh keys?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>